In mybook® Food Collection (edit)

Added to your food collection.
Removed from mybook!

We took this business out of your food collection.

Paradou

Map & Directions
(170 Reviews)

8 Little West 12th St, New York, NY 10014

(212) 463-8345

CLOSED NOW
Today: 11:00 am - 7:00 pm
Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

CatherineJ353

05/30/2012

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
I've always eaten here in Paradou

I've always eaten here in Paradou Restaurant. The food is very tasty, and the crew is very friendly to customers.

sandra111a

09/13/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
AVOID THIS SCAM DONT GET TRAPPED

Lots of BAD points about this dive called Paradou in NYC!
- They dont tell you there is a time limit of 1 hour on the unlimited champagne
- The champagne is an unknown brand headache in a glass
- The owner Vadim I think his name is, thinks he has hit a gold mine by getting everyone drunk and his sleazy jokes
- The staff are scruffy and rude
- There is only 1 flea infested toilet
- The outside area is way too HOT nowhere to stand, literally a sauna
- I bet most people who have given this a good review got wasted there!
- This place is a big AVOID!!!
- My food had a hair inside it, probably the moody old looking lady waitress
- The staff hardly speak english
- It is one big CON

Have some class and decency and AVOID this flea pit of a restaurant!

eaterfoodie

07/18/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
wow amazing!

This little french restaurant was recommended by a friend who often goes to their brunch. What can I say: WE LOVED IT. We came for dinner during bastille week, on a thursday. The restaurant was PACKED! they were offering an unheard of deal: $17.80 for three courses dinner.
We didn't take advantage of this deal and went for the regular menu! WOW. So delicious! we split their delicious plate of foie gras (their hostess pointed it to us as soon as we sat down that its a unique recipe of their chef and that it's made 5 different ways!! am I glad she did! I entered foie heaven and didn't want to get out. We also shared an entree and another appetizers (lobster appetizer which looked and tasted perfect) and duck entree. By the way, at the table next to us I saw a couple order a big prawns plate which looks and smelled so good - I saw them polished it super fast haha!
I am sorry for the lengthy review but I am salivating just thinking about this place, and can't wait to go back.

They were so sweet, so accommodating, our server was a delight and very knowledgeable. when we were leaving, the hostess didn't forget to say goodbye and wished us a wonderful night (many places forget about you as soon as you get served a check and pay your tips), and we loved that special attention.

What a great night!!!!

cmbcmb

07/18/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Poor customer service

Never even got to eat here! Wasn't able to reach to make a reservation and when I arrived was treated rudely and then got rude response from management! See below

EMAIL CHAIN

Thanks for your reply. As I stated was not offended my reservation was not in system simply that it was implied I did not call and was only offered inside seating as we were leaving and requested it. I understand humor is needed however clearly I was offended enough to send you an email 2 days later so its something to consider.

Agree to disagree especially that pastis is inferior.

From: Vadim from Paradou [webmaster@paradounyc]
Sent: 07/18/2011 11:27 AM MST
Subject: Re: Poor customer service on 7/15-16

hello catherine,

im sorry happened. unfortunately we occasionally have problems with our voicemail system. generally most customers do not assume that if they left a message, that that means they have a confirmed reservations. we are extremely diligent in returning calls and confirming reservations. unfortunately sometimes these things happen. im mostly sorry that you had to go to pastis for what is certainly an inferior experience on every level.

i also know my staff. especially the staff who was there on saturday. rudeness is definitely not a trait they share. if a reservation is not in our system, it does not mean we are accusing you of lying. its simply not in our system. i understand that you wanted to sit in our garden, which considering the reservations we had confirmed, was not possible. abi, one of the staff present, offered to seat you at the round table in the front. you refused. i have no reason to think that his version of the events is not accurate.

1nycfoodie10014

03/31/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
excellent food and terrific wine list

Once, on a chill March night, I came by Paradou. It was quite full, for a week-night. There was no hostess, and a waiter approached me, asking me politely where I wanted to land. He quickly gave me a tour of the restaurant, and I chose the front room which reminded me what it was like when I was back in France. (don't get me wrong, the garden is adorable, superbly romantic and cozy). I sat at the table by the wall with a long bench, overlooking the room. It was just me, and so I needed some entertainment, and this place is just great to people watch.
The wine list was fabulous. Not too big and just enough choices to get me curious. I got me a bottle of Pomerol, and it was a perfect and not too pricey bottle of excellent red. I started with steak tartar which was one of the best I've ever had (ask the waiter to mix that for you with all the accompanying spices right there at the table for you). The portion was very generous. The entricote that I ordered for my entree was perfectly prepared and came with the most delicious, super fantastic potato gratin - best I've ever had. I also had a side of haricot vert which was excellent.
I am telling the whole world about it. This is going to be my new permanent spot for weekday dinner.
Thanks, Paradou.

NYCGirl2000

03/30/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Makes Me Feel Home!

Since I am originally from the French countryside, I really appreciate this restaurant. It is simply superb! The wines are lovely, and the food makes me feel like I am home. We will come here as long as they will have us!

In My Opinion

03/29/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
How many ways can you say aweful?

I made a brunch reservation for myself and four friends for a birthday celebration. Four out of the five had arrived and were were not permitted to sit until the fifth had arrived. The hostess was quite rude. They made us stand and wait even though our table was right there waiting for us. Normally that wouldn't be a problem but the place is so tiny there was no room to stand. After about 3 minutes of standing our friend came and were were seated.

The waitress came over, gave us menus and told us that we could have unlimited champagne drinks for 2 hours. We ordered a few appetizers to start and placed our entree orders as well. The appetizers came quickly but were nothing special. After they cleared the appetizer plates we then waited over an hour for our entrees. We didn't have a problem waiting. After all we were enjoying our Mimosa's and conversation. The entrees came and were below par. Our dishes were cleared and now it was time for dessert. The birthday girl had gone to the ladies room so it was a prime time to tell the waitress it was her birthdaya nd to please put a candle in whatever dessert she orders. The waitress said well I need to take the order now. I said okay, well she should be back from the ladies room in a minute. The waitress said, I need to take the orders no. I said, ""why""? She said becasue you have 25 minutes left. I said, ""until what""? She said you only can stay for 2 hours. Initially she told us we could drink for two hours but never that we had two hours in total! We ordered dessert and it took 15 minutes. that left us with 10 minutes to eat our desserts and drink coffee. If it weren't for the great company I would have really been ticked off.

Nadia H

02/24/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Yum!

Ohhh, I love Paradou!

Always good food, good ambiance and great vibe. It is a little bit expensive, so I can only go on a special occasion, but still. Great cheese collection, amazing confitures, my favorite is a pineapple lavender, oh my!

Champagne is always tasty, and since I am a vegetarian, the chef makes me a special, I am so lucky! Great grilled veggies, couscous, goat cheese and what not.

The deserts are awesome, had an apple crepe which was so delicious, and once a white fluffy soft meringue with white peaches...

Well will go soon!

N

wunten

11/16/2010

Overall
Love this place

Great space, menu always exciting and fresh, and when they have a fixed price menu special its great. Sunday brunch is fun as well.

StevenComfort

09/28/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Top Quality; Low attitude

Paradou and I share some important values:
- High quality, authentic French fare
- Seasonal menus
- Low-to-no attitude from the staff
- Casual environment with it's own flair (not a knock-off)
- Fairly priced

If the weather is nice, make sure you ask for a table in the garden! I have been to big parties at Paradou that went down without a hitch; and I've been there on dates while big parties (~ 20 people) were on -- they do an amazing job of making everyone feel at home...

yaelleah

08/19/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Love their online marketing

I've heard it said that it would be impossible to ever try every single one of the city's restaurants even if you ate out 4 meals a day; there are just too many. Now that's heavy competition.

One of the things I love most about New York is the originality that abounds. A restaurant must be creative if it wants to get people in the door. This was the case with my Supper outing a couple of days ago, and this is the case with a little French bistro called Paradou in the West Village. Paradou is super creative in that I have never even been there and I'm already hooked.

It all started with a Grub Street posting I came across. The owners of the establishment had been advertising that after 9 years of running their business, they were in need of some honest to goodness feedback from the people who really mattered, their customers. For those who email their comments in, a $20 coupon will come their way.

So I decided I had to check out the restaurant's website. Since I'm a sucker for contests, the first thing I noticed was ""Sign up for our newsletter and enter our weekly drawing to win a $100 gift certificate."" So of course I sign up. The next nice surprise was an email in my inbox thanking me for signing up and offering me a complimentary glass of wine. But that's not all! On the restaurant's Yelp page, it lists a ""Free Wine Mondays"" special - just mention ""Wall Street"" when making your dinner reservation for a Monday night and you get a free bottle of wine with your meal. At this rate I'm going to have a feast on the house!

But you know if it's good, I'll go back. And so will others. That's why they are smart cookies in my book.

So if you're looking for a new cute little French place to call your own, I'd definitely check it out.

kierahannigan

06/03/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Brunch Brilliance

We enjoyed a great brunch on a sunny Saturday afternoon.

The staff were absolutely lovely - totally friendly and happy to let us know where to visit and what to do on our trip.

The meat and cheese platter was divine - and the champagne cocktails didn't go down too badly either!

All in all - the perfect afternoon spent in a Provencale corner of Meatpacking!

troutonfly

11/22/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Business owner a rightist douche

This is not so much a review of the food/service at Paradou as an indictment of the circumstances of its very existence. Why anyone would EVER support a sadistic, right-wing spammer prick with their business is beyond me. There are plenty of dining options in New York that don't require patrons to do business with a demonstrable asshat.

mo 323

11/21/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Owner is abusive to his staff, according to NY Post

Don't patronize this place, according to the New York Post and other sources, this owner abuses his staff to the extreme, and docks them hundreds of dollars for petty things such as not collecting enough email addresses from patrons.

Just Google ""Evil New York Restaurant Owner"" for the whole story.

goldenfalcon

11/20/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
How Rude!

I went in, and didn't like the food and wanted to talk to the manager about my complaint. When he approached, he had a look of disgust. I told him what I thought, and how I was very disappointed to be paying this much for this food. He told me ""Go F@ck yourself, go somewhere else from now on!"" Me and everyone there that night couldn't believe this guy was going off like this. We paid, and left immediately.

Wagyu

11/20/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Good staff, Terrible management

I've never had such an uncomfortable dining experience. The owner constantly berates the servers in plain view of guests. I will never eat here again.

spaniard123

11/20/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
the best foie gras i've ever had

super great time!! it was myself and four of my buddies, shared the 5 foie gras plate (it was quite large), also steak tartare, the pate trio plate ( i don't remember what its called but it was great), a head cheese which was a special and it was f'ng amazing, we had steaks and lamb for our entrees and it was all excellent. we had red wine: a couple of bottles of a reeeeal good burgundy, and finished off with espressos. will be back with the wife, i know from the looks on the faces of the girls sitting next to our table the desert and belinis were super great too.

lookingatthefuture

07/13/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Very Cute little place

We ate like pigs!!! and would recommend the Brunch to anyone if you have nothing to do but try to find your hotel after.. Free Chanpagne!!

JaredOU

06/16/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
The best birthday party thanks to Paradou! The best!

My fiance chose Paradou for my birthday party. What a great choice! We were treating as if we were family and the guys working became instant friends of ours. Alex and Ronan, thank you so much! Paradou is VERY HIGHLY recommended!

gerina3

04/21/2009

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Best Brunch?!? What a joke.

No where in the description about the 'Best Brunch Deal in Town' does it say that Paradou will charge an additional 50% for booking a large party. We were looking forward to a nice celebratory brunch and then we find out that the brunch will not be $29 as advertised but $45. Not the end of the world or breaking the bank and normally this kind of miscommunication wouldn't warrant a poor review but the reservationist was rude and pretentious. A fair warning needed to be issued to those thinking of spending any money here.

Sponsored Links
Hours

Regular Hours

Extra Phones

Fax: (646) 435-0621

Price Range
$$$$
Neighborhoods
West Village, Downtown Manhattan, Meatpacking District
Categories
French Restaurants, Restaurants
Other Information

Take Out: Yes

Cuisines: French, European, Continental

Sponsored Links